District at a Glance

The West Garo Hills is one of the largest district of Meghalaya located in the western part of the State. The Garo Hills district was divided into two districts, viz. the West Garo Hills district and the East Garo Hills district in October 1976. The erstwhile West Garo Hills district was further divided into two administrative districts of West and South Garo Hills on June 1992. The district headquarters of West Garo Hills is Tura, which is the second largest town in the State after Shillong. The West Garo Hills district lies on the western part of the state of Meghalaya bounded by the East Garo Hills district on the east, the South Garo Hills on the south-east, the Goalpara district of Assam on the north and north-west and Bangladesh on the south.

Area and Administrative Units (2011 Census)
Total Geographical Area 3677 Sq. Km.(including SWG Hills)
Urban Area 18.3 Sq. Km.
Rural Area 3658.7 Sq. Km.
Sub-Divisions 2(including Tura Sadar)
Development Blocks 6
Towns 1
Population (2011)
Total 4,70,796
Rural 3,95,938
Urban 74,858
Male 2,37,024
Female 2,33,772
Scheduled Tribe 3,35,841
Scheduled Caste 6,715
Others 1,28,240
Density (per sq. km.) 175
Sex Ratio (females/'000 males) 979
Total 979
Rural 977
Urban 997